Stuff I’ve learned…

since my parents moved out and I’ve assumed primary responsibility for running the house:

When debating whether or not to replace or repair your ten year old washing machine when it breaks down replace every time.

Dishwasher rinse aid is made of WIN

No matter how many times you wash the rubbish bin with bleach, Flash, handwash, soap or Nivea Shower Gel Sensitive for Men there’ll still be that faint bin smell when the bag is out of it

The more you clean around the place the sooner it looks dirty.

The bathroom sink will look dirty the moment the first person uses it.

My strategy will be the same as my brother’s when doing the cooking. Quick and convenient during the week. Take the effort at the weekend.

Baking is good. I should get into that.

My other brother eats 80% of the treats I bring into this house.

It’s easy to pretend to be my Dad on the phone when getting the Internet fixed.

We badly needed a new mop.

My poor, beloved, long suffering mother leaves a mess in her wake when she visits

Parents like dropping in unannounced.

I really like having my own space.

Keeping a five bedroomed house clean on your own is a pain though.

People will vandalise the whiteboard you use to keep track of tasks

People will add condoms, lube and Filipino boy to your shopping list

Now that you do the shopping you always forget to bring the loyalty card

People are amazed you haven’t starved to death in your own filth by now

Some rooms get cleaned a lot. Other rooms I couldn’t be arsed about.

There are more ways to clean things than I care to think about.

I still and will always hate dusting

Ironing I don’t mind now.

Not having proper sets of cutlery and ware bugs me

I have definite ideas about how I want my primary dwelling to be and if current experience is any indicator I will be much happier in myself when they are achieved

3 Responses to “Stuff I’ve learned…”


  1. 1 Narky Saturday, 17 April 2010 at 14:20

    Whiteboards are meant for doodling and vandalising – nothing else.

    Me, I quite like dusting and loathe ironing with every fibre of my being.

    Just try not to leave the bin for so long that when you take the bag out it drips bin juice. Ahem. I have never done this, of course.

  2. 2 shouldknowbetterbynow Monday, 19 April 2010 at 22:58

    @Narky
    I enjoy the whiteboard vandalism. Always fun to see what people come up with.

    Don’t think that’s my problem when it comes to the bin but I’ll remember for future reference :-)

  3. 3 Quettandil Tuesday, 20 April 2010 at 19:59

    Ah whiteboards – my sister always comes by and draws on mine. Now I write Hangul all over it.

    And I’m here to say baking is WIN. Especially when the house smells delicious afterwards.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Flickr Photos


