Ice-Cream Temptation

Right now I want ice-cream.

Well I just don’t want ice-cream.

I want some Club Orange, either Haribo Gummi/Gold Bears or Maynards Wine Gums. If I’m feeling particularly overworked, unloved, greedy hungry I may even go for some Doritos Tangy Cheese

I really like one particular flavour: Strawberry Cheesecake.

My favourite of all time, thus far, has been the variety I found in Baskin & Robbins. However their tub offering that’s made it to this part of the world is poor. The strawberry is poor and the ice-cream is that cheap vanilla variety.

I became partial to the kind from Ben and Jerrys but in the mean time I think Haagen Daaz changed their offering and I really like that too. It’s different but still wonderful on the tongue.

Anyway, this is all immaterial to the thought process going on in my head right now:

[Interlude to the interior of my mind]

I really want some ice-cream

No, I can’t eat ice-cream it’ll make me fat.

It won’t really and you deserve it any way.

Yes, it fecking will.

Well, you didn’t eat a proper lunch today so it can count as your third meal.

That’s beside the point. I want to get to a healthier weight and eating ice-cream will not accomplish that.

But why do you want to get to a healthier weight? Are your motivations pure in this? Isn’t this just idolatry?

Well one shouldn’t want to be in shape just to attract a hypothetical partner. It’s to do with fitness and health overall. To use one analogy our bodies are the temples of the Holy Spirit so we should take care of them.

Ah so, it’s not to do with idolatry it’s to do with deep rooted insecurities about your status as a man in the world and your physical capabilities with reference to the men you see on TV?

Well every guy just likes to be in shape but I think I’m above those shallow comparisons hopefully… And isn’t indulging in some ice-cream and other junk food really just gluttony?

Hey man, your entire First World, Western existence is a daily sacrifice at the altar of gluttony if you’re going to use that argument. How much can some ice-cream hurt?

I’ve had a tough time of it lately…

You have, you have. You deserve some TLC and some ice-cream lovin’

And some Gummi bears would be nice too…

But the (my brother’s) wedding is in a month and I’m the best man. I need to be in shape

So it is about finding a woman!

It’s not sinful to want to look your best for pictures that people will be looking at for the next 50 years.

Start next week. It’s not like you’ve had a great fitness regime this week any way. Might as well make a proper start of it from Monday.

Yeah, well it’s Denise’s birthday meal tomorrow so we’re eating out for that. And then on Saturday it’ll be the meeting with the usual food and sounds like roast dinner with the parents on Sunday. Not exactly a dieting week to be fair…

How much to you like Ben and Jerry’s Strawberry Cheesecake flavour ice-cream?

A lot…

Would it be so bad to just have a few spoonfuls?

That’s bollox. I’ve never once eaten half of those things. Tub open. Tub empty, like.

That’s true. You’re 100% committed in everything you do. You bought that ice-cream though. It’s sitting in the freezer outside. Why is it there? To look pretty?

Half-price sale man. Couldn’t pass that up. I like ice-cream and the way to approach it is to use it sparingly and in moderation at appropriate times. My whole allowed junkfood on Sunday approach has worked for me in the past. We’ll keep at it for now.

Fair enough I suppose…

That said though…

Yes?

I really want some ice-cream

3 Responses to “Ice-Cream Temptation”


  1. 1 Karita Thursday, 29 April 2010 at 11:14

    Love the internal dialogue. I do the same thing. I argue myself round in circles. But I usually end up going with the gluttony. ;-)

  2. 2 Esther Saturday, 1 May 2010 at 17:36

    I usually decide to go with a healthier snack. Of course, it helps when ice cream makes one violently ill. However, I’ve found frozen fruit to be a great substitute for junk food when I need sugar.

  3. 3 shouldknowbetterbynow Thursday, 6 May 2010 at 23:59

    @Karita
    Gluttony is bad but occasional ice-cream is good :-)

    @Esther
    It’s a coping mechanism. Are worse methods but could be better ones too :-)


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Flickr Photos


