Question

To the Christian people:

A brother or sister you’ve known for years approaches you and says: ‘I think I’m close to giving up the faith’

What do you do?

3 Responses to “Question”


  1. 1 Lyn Campbell Tuesday, 15 June 2010 at 02:31

    What would I do?
    1) Listen.
    2) Understand that their journey is their own and cannot be forced.
    3) Know that faith is a gift, not an obligation – if one tries to coerce people into staying part of a community of faith, one alienates them further, which leads to festering resentment.
    4) reassure them that all of the above is so, and that I would not love them less for taking their own path.

  2. 2 Karita Wednesday, 16 June 2010 at 13:04

    First, I would not judge. Then I would do what I always do when someone I care about is struggling – ask questions. Figure out what’s going on inside their head, if they are willing for me to do that. The nature of the questions and conversation from that point on entirely depends on the specific person.

  3. 3 Esther Friday, 18 June 2010 at 23:31

    Listen to what they have to say and tell them that it’s okay to have questions — even big, scary questions.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Flickr Photos

Rose amongst the thorns

Someone...

Seaweed

More Photos

