Why I’d leave…

1 – I’ve talked to people on this. I feel like leaving the church. I feel like giving up on the faith. It seems like no-one has talked to me about it. Never seems like I’ve been approached when apparently everyone knows I’m in a messed up way.

2 – You sin. The world doesn’t appear to end.

3 – You get stabbed in the back. They twist the knife while doing so and say “Sorry Brother I know this is hurtful for you. Please forgive me. I will continue to pray for you but…”

4 – Praying and reading your Bible should really result in something more than a dim silence as you are on your knees or lying on the ground

5 – Because I can’t date outside of the faith, currently my chances of finding a girlfriend/wife are slim and none. Loneliness sucks

5 Responses to “Why I’d leave…”


  1. 1 Karita Tuesday, 22 June 2010 at 09:24

    21. That’s shit, plain and simple. They should be ashamed of themselves. Can you find an older Christian to talk to who is not in your community? Another church? Ask for a few sessions?

    2. No, the world doesn’t seem to end. Is that why we should not sin?

    3. Hypocrisy sucks. I can absolutely see why this one would make someone want to leave. I have no answers. But do you have any Christian friends who have not stabbed you in the back?

    4. I’m not sure about this one, as I have the same issues.

    5. Can’t date outside the faith. I did. I married the man I dated outside the faith. I can see why God said to not do it, because it is hard, but it’s not the end of the world.

    These are just some of my initial thoughts/questions as I read the post. It seems there are two things going on here. Other Christians putting you off the faith/church. And not feeling anything from God through prayer or reading the Bible. I think I remember you once saying something about wishing you could receive flowers sometimes?

    I would love to engage in dialogue with you about this, but I may not be the best person as I don’t think I have any answers.

    *Hugs*

  2. 3 Marie Tuesday, 22 June 2010 at 09:48

    I talked you, you ended the conversation!

  3. 4 shouldknowbetterbynow Tuesday, 22 June 2010 at 17:13

    Just like to point out that I didn’t say no-one had approached me but that it seemed like no-one had. When I say approached I mean taken me aside of their own volition and unbidden to have a chat about how things are going. If I put this current phase of doubt and despair as a start date of Jan/Feb 2007 I’ve been three and a half years in the same place.

    In that time there would be what I consider three approaches meeting the above definition. I’ve lost count of the amount of people I’ve approached myself or talked to in that time.

    @Karita
    1 – Sometimes people have their own reasons for doing things. Maybe I’m difficult to approach or something. I know I’m loved. Have talked to people. Need to get my ass in gear on the whole few sessions aspect

    2 – Never said it was :-) Just an observation

    3 – Wasn’t my home church as such. Other Christian friends. Does suck though

    4 – Sucks

    5 – That wall is crumbling more and more over time.

    Drop me an email if you like :-)

    @Marie
    I thought I’d said it at the time but I did appreciate the fact you approached me. Thank you.

  4. 5 Esther Thursday, 24 June 2010 at 00:29

    I wish I could give you a real hug instead of just a virtual one. Your words sound so sad.

    There is nothing wrong with questioning your faith. I encourage you to do so. Put some thought into it, find someone who isn’t judgmental and talk about it. It might help.

    On the Bible reading bit, remember that emotions are neither right nor wrong, they are there. Often they are more about perceptions than reality. If it’s bothering you to read your Bible you can set it aside for a time.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Rose amongst the thorns

Someone...

Seaweed

More Photos

